TESOL Bali: Day 1

It’s late and I have an early day tomorrow, so I’ll need to be brief again (I’m sorry). Commitments and responsibility impair my creativity. (I’ll use this as my excuse to postpone working in the future).

A snapshot of day 1 of the TESOL in Bali:

  • IALF is based in a great building. By ‘great’ – it’s actually nothing in the grand scheme of things… but compared to it’s underdeveloped surrounding, IALF stands out: Grey, modern, insignia in English – ‘Great’.
  • I have to walk through muddy, dog-mosquito-cockroach-and-sleezy-men-infested alleyways to get to IALF from my accommodation… it is certainly a relief to walking into clean, air-conditioned facilities! (at least for the purpose of study!)
  • The Resource Centre (or library) is well-equipped, and there’s unlimited printing for free!!!! ALSO, after a year’s worth of paid facilitation, I have now, as a student, discovered that you can ask the ‘materials staff’ to do your printing, photocopying, cutting and stapling for you…another quirk of opting not to work.
  • Started class at 8am and finished at 7pm – first days are meant to be easy. 11hours is ‘warming up’.
  • We’ve been told we need to go to school on Saturdays, and on Fridays until 8pm.
  • I’ve found myself a ‘guinea pig’ learner for conducting my first learning needs analysis. Her name is Kartima…(though I may have mis-spelled this).
Today’s timetable:
08:00-10:00 General Orientation & Course Overview
10:30 – 12:00 Focus on the Learner and Learning
12:45 – 1:15 Preparing to Observe
1:30 – 2:45 Observe tutors teach – 1st observation
2:45 – 3:15 Meet Teaching Practice Students
3:15 – 5:30 Feedback on observed lessons
5:30 – 7:00 Teaching practice lesson plans
Homework:
Select Teaching Practice student
Reread Learner Profile
Complete lesson plan for first class tomorrow with materials
One thought on “TESOL Bali: Day 1

  1. sounds a lot like me all of last year..

    when it’s all over though, you’ll be amazed at how quickly you forget the long hours spent in school…

Leave a Reply

