TESOL Bali: Day 2

Again. Short on sleep – it’s 7 past midnight. So, I’ll keep it brief.

  • 6am wake up – coffee with one eye open and one eye shut
  • Had my first ‘Unknown Natural Language’ module… and this was composed of learning none other than Romanian with a Moldovan teacher wearing a traditional Romanian dress! I never thought I would have a Romanian language lesson… in Indonesia… when learning to teach English – but it was very, very enjoyable!
  • Lesson planning workshop – we were set activities on how to lesson plan. Quite straightforward…difference being, I was once paid to do it!
  • Shadowed three of my peers whilst they practised / rehearsed delivering their first lessons. I was observed as well. I didn’t realise we were practising at this point, so I didn’t actually know what I was doing (I intended on figuring everything out in my lunchbreak!). The teacher told me to leave and ‘go get organised and sort myself out!’. ๐Ÿ˜› My brilliant first impression: ‘Lina, you have very strong delivery of teaching… you just need to get organised and figure out what you’re actually doing!’ … so I was kicked out! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Delivered my very first lesson to a group of 13 15-18 years old Indonesian children!!!! My oh my are they so much nicer than some of my previous clients! It was a pleasure!
  • Feedback and constructive criticism session after teaching and observations.
  • Consultations with tutors.
  • Team lesson planning session.
….aaaand, after not having eaten anything all day… at 1930… I ate my first meal!
…by midnight, my lesson plan for tomorrow complete…
Now – off to bed.
Bon nuit!
2 thoughts on “TESOL Bali: Day 2

    • It’s kinda like the Bikram Yoga 30 Day Challenge, Mr Feuling… it’s pretty much 30 days of little apart from English teaching and homework and sleeplessness and coffee. It’s very very fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

