TESOL Bali: Day 3

As per usual: it’s my third consecutive night of suboptimal sleep (and it’s only the beginning). Just a few bullet points on today, and I’ll be off to tell myself ‘sweet dreams’.

  • Groggy-eyed, arrived in school at 10 to 8, having survived – for the 6th time – the alleyway infested with dirty, fiesty and loud dogs. I hate that alleyway, and unfortunately, I have to walk through it to and from IALF everyday. I had a fear of stray dogs before arriving in Bali… but, I’m afraid, this fear has deepened. Luckily, the 5 others that stay at my accommodation with me, have been looking out for me… πŸ˜‰
  • Started with my 2nd ever class in an unknown natural language… as discussed, I have the peculiar (yet wonderful) opportunity to build awareness of Romanian. We used Realia (a recently learned English-Language-Teaching term) in the form of various stuffed teddy bears to conduct a basic role play saying: ‘Hello, my name is Koalina. What is your name?’ ‘My name is Ursulina. Good morning! How are you?’ ‘Me? I am great! Thank you! How are you?’ ‘Excellent!’ ‘Have a good day!’ Admittedly, I got very much into character and toyed with pitch and tone to play different characters, as I switched between teddy bears. I really enjoyed it! πŸ™‚
  • I discovered I can buy an exceptionally tasty Iced Cappunico at IALF for 3500 Rupiahs (imagine, 10000 Rupiah is about $1.00). It made me realise how EXTORTIONATELY ripped off we were (or – how unacceptably stupid we were) not to hunt for cheaper prices during the first two weeks in Bali. Nonetheless, I shared a disproportionate level of gratitude to the waitress that served me, exclaiming: ‘You have Iced Cappuccino?!? For 3500 Rupiah? How much? 3500?!! Oh my goodness! You have just made my day!!!!’ (I got giggles from her and her other friends).
  • I had my first phonology class. Ehhhh – it was okay. I find the chart quite difficult, and I realised I speak English funny. My accent is neither English, Australian or American – when studying it on the phonetic chart. It puts me in a bit of a conundrum if ever I need to use it when teaching English, as I’m not sure my accent is the best to emulate!
  • We had another session on ‘classroom management’ – very very very easy considering my delightful experience working at Ingeus…but it was very nice to be positively reinforced that I was doing my job correctly.
  • I taught my second class today around the theme of ‘Families’. I hope I can get copies of my reflections – it would be nice to add them to my blog (I’ve handed them in though, so this won’t happen yet!)
That’s it for now! I’ve written more than planned! Good nighhhht! πŸ™‚
4 thoughts on “TESOL Bali: Day 3

  1. I wonder where my accent lies on the phonetic chart!

    i had my first formal meeting today with my supervisor and an external lawyer from a firm I would die to work for (eventually)! I think i may have been too excited (and nervous).. now i have a headache.. reading about your cappucino story made me giggle a little too! xxx

    • awww, cutie poo – how exciting!!! maybe when i see you next… after all of the coffees and catching up… we should find out where your accent lies on the phonetic chart! πŸ˜‰ i’m sure you’ll be as sunny and awkward (if not more) than I! πŸ™‚

      Great news about first formal meeting with potentially ‘to-die-for’ law firm… I’m sure you’ll shine!!!! (Just don’t give yourself a headache as a result, gooseypoo!!!!… goodness, you’d be exactly like me with that cappuccino! So great and yummy!

    • πŸ™‚ muaaaaaaaa Lovely to see a comment from you, darling. I noticed your party photos, and it looks like you had a blast. Mou leipeis goose!

Leave a Reply

