TESOL Bali: Day 5

Brilliant. I thought I would have an early night, but that hasn’t quite happened. The good news is: I can sleep in tomorrow. The bad news is: it’s not really going to be a weekend.

As per usual in the last 5 days, as a result of sleep deprivation, I need to be ‘brief’ (I use inverted commas, as most people would question whether it could be possible for me to be anything but long-winded).

  • Long, busy, day… being tired makes it harder to enjoy: I had a 13 hour day at IALF today. Really intense. From 07:30 until 12:30, I had the following classes back to bath: Unknown Natural Language, Lesson Planning 2 and Teaching Vocabulary. I actually managed to enjoy 3/4 of my lunch break, as I didn’t need to teach today… I have two big deadlines – one for tomorrow and one for Monday, so I got started on those projects at 13:30 and stopped studying at 18:40. I had to observe an experienced ELT teacher from 19:00 until 20:00, and complete a guided observation sheet. My account is purely descriptive, and its’ purpose is merely to account for the lack of ‘me’ time in my days… and the lack of a break… I’m really really enjoying everything so far… admittedly, it’s only the first week that’s come to a close…
  • We trialled an alternative route home: Fortunately, there were fewer dogs than the the dog-infested alleyway I’ve been complaining about… only problem is, though there are fewer of them, these one’s are unleashed. Not sure what’s safer?
  • Electrical skills: 🙂 I know a particular individual who would be very very proud of me today! Our electricity went out this evening… we sat in darkness, a group of 4 of us, with the lights off. I decided to get off my ass and try to fix it – and guess what!?! I got it to work!
  • Feedback: My feedback was returned to me from my first two teaching classes. It’s great feedback – super constructive, and really thorough. It’s really helping me to build a greater awareness of the varied responsibilities (and skill sets) that teachers are actually required to have.
  • Plans for this weekend: I’m conducting a two hour ‘Learner Profile’ on a one-to-one basis with a 16 years-old student who’s name is… Lina! 🙂 I’ll be assessing her English language needs through a 30 minute, recorded interview; a listening and reading exercise; and a writing activity. I’m then meant to transcribe the interview; design and deliver a tailor-made one-to-one lesson for her; and write a long report including a learning needs analysis, strengths and weaknesses, suggested lessons for the future. I have another deadline for Monday……
All I can hear is a drip from my tap. My brain has suddenly stopped, and my fingers are typing on autopilot. I need to sleep.
2 thoughts on “TESOL Bali: Day 5

  1. Personally, I do very, very poorly without sleep. My mind shuts down almost totally. And when this happens, I don’t want to talk to anybody. The thought of it scares me. I need my sleep in order to function period.

    • Yeahhhh… I do recall responding to sleep deprivation that way in high school. Luckily, it hasn’t been as bad! However – I’ve become accustomed to the luxury of sleeping relatively well in London, so now I’m out of practice! I’m afraid, another night of limited sleep 😦

Leave a Reply

