TESOL Bali: Day 11

Tired… pre-occupied… with about 7 simultaneous ‘big’ deadlines to manage all at once. Just finished 2 lesson plans – one for tomorrow and one for Saturday’s one-to-one. Needed to spend an hour on each to find / make materials… I need to jet out the door and make a request for printing before 8am.

Busy, busy, busy bee: Buzzing, buzzing… that’s what I do! 🙂 I was asked whether I was stressed today…. and the truth is, no – I’m not. I just want to get on with it. Knowing that the course lasts 1 month… that it’s intense while you do it, and then there’s a clear finish…end…stop point… makes it really easy to motivate myself to just push through it. I feel good… just tired. I’ve been having late nights and early mornings for 11 consecutive days now… and it doesn’t look like I’m going to have much of a weekend either.

Imperfections: So – nobody’s perfect, right? Does that mean I can’t whinge about a qualm that I have? Small thing, but big thing – big thing to me. After 4 years of running workshops at Ingeus – whether it be as an advisor or a Facilitator – a thing I learned to enforce was ending on time. Finishing early is okay, but finishing late is a massive no-no. On a number of occasions, teachers have ‘over run’ by 5-10-15 minutes after their class was due to end. This bothers me as we have classes back to back, and we rely on those 15 minute breaks to compose ourselves, get a coffee, refocus. On other occasions, we plan ‘printing time’ into those breaks, and suddenly we no longer have the ability to do so. Similarly, on the course timetable, I notice loads of modules being covered on ‘teaching’, including ‘professional development’, ‘careers’, ‘teaching young learners’ and ‘ICT’, but they don’t have a module on ‘wellbeing – and self-management’, which I believe is very important. We’re having ‘mid-course tutorials’ on Monday (this is an opportunity for tutors to tell us whether we’re likely to pass or fail) – but I’m planning it as an opportunity to discuss my concerns about timekeeping.

Distortion: You know when your tired… you get grumpy… when you get grumpy… you say malakies… and when you say malakies, you later wish you hadn’t… and when you later wish you hadn’t, you realise you meant less of what you said than you intended? …well, this may be the case.

Offski. Bon nuit.

6 thoughts on “TESOL Bali: Day 11

  1. Interesting to see the timestamp WordPress places on comments – last comment was posted at 4:35 pm and shows as 12:35 am. I guess it’s posted as U.K. time. So this entry at 4:40 pm should show at 12:40 am. Let’s see if it does…

    • I’m confused by the time swap business… the time on my computer is still London time – I wonder whether that has an impact on the time it says it is when I publish a post? (on that note, does it even publish a time?) Or are you referring to the time when you post a post? I’m confused. Who’s post are we talking about? 🙂 Hope you’re well!

  2. Very well written, Lina. More and more I look forward to your next blog entry. The wisdom of your years and experience shine through your topics, making them more purposeful and enlightening. I particularly liked your rumination on fatigue and going without sleep…

    “Distortion: You know when your tired… you get grumpy… when you get grumpy… you say malakies… and when you say malakies, you later wish you hadn’t… and when you later wish you hadn’t, you realise you meant less of what you said than you intended? …well, this may be the case.”

    The situation you describe and its long-term impact on important relationships is probably a more damaging consequence of missing sleep than mistakes you may make or lapses in judgement caused by the same.

    • I was wondering… when your name comes up on my screen as ‘nicomou’, is that because I’m labelled you ‘Nicomou’ at some point? Or did you label yourself Nicomou when registering to my blog? If it’s the latter, you know that’s really endearing, don’t you? Do you remember what Nicomou means, Nicomou? 🙂 😛

Leave a Reply

