TESOL Bali: Day 14

  • Missing my Balinese frog friends. After heavy rain, I hear thousands of Balinese frogs ribetting at the same time in a patch of marsh land that’s right next to my bathroom window screen…tonight, there’s been no rain, and the frogs have become docile… or have maybe moved to wetter territory. I miss them! In a little over two weeks, I’ve grown accustomed to their sounds and seek comfort in them coming back!
  • Ratatouille: I was initially appeased, after seeing the rat race on the banister of the beruga, that he never came down to the earth… and that he was quite happy running back and forth from above. A week passed, and there was no evidence to the contrary, and therefore, I forgot about it. Today, on the other hand, I have had THREE on the ground encounters with this mischievous ratatouille, and I’m not too sure how I feel about it…….
  • Centipedes: I found a little one in my room. I’m sorry… but…I tried to kill it. Rather than squashing it, I cut it in half… and each half of the centipede’s body continued to move independently….a bit freakish… but I flushed both halves down the toilet.
  • Learner profile: I’m still working on my Learner Profile report. I’m meant to have a draft in tomorrow, but I’m afraid it won’t be done in time. I’ll just need to turn in what I’ve got. Some sections are quite straightforward, but I spent about 3 hours on Linna’s phonological analysis and I found it both interesting and difficult. Rather, I found it difficult first… and once I started to understand and build hypotheses around the causes of her pronunciation errors, I started to enjoy it and find it quite engaging to work on.
  • Language awareness: I started working on my Language Awareness Task… an assignment that is grammar-based, but more importantly, focuses on how one might teach challenging grammar points to low-level language students. I started this course feeling as though Grammar was an area of strength for me, and suddenly, I now feel as though I don’t understand anything.
  • Upper-intermediate:Β We’re changing class groups this week. I haven’t even started teaching my new group of learners, but I already miss my other students!
  • Living in Asia: …Is wonderful. I hate to say it, but I would happily live and work in Bali for a while… 6 months, maybe. (Though, this will never happen). Similarly, if I had the opportunity to live and work in Asia, maybe I’d be keen to experience another part of Asia for an extended duration. I’m excited about travelling… but, I’m starting to get worried that maybe I wont want to go back to Europe… In Bali, it’s so wonderfully hot… wonderfully spicy… wonderfully cheap… wonderfully friendly…and some parts, are wonderfully beautiful…why leave? Why leave when a place is so wonderfully wonderful? πŸ™‚
  • Sleep. Sleep. I’m out.
8 thoughts on “TESOL Bali: Day 14

  1. I’ve long been curious about Asia, not having had the opportunity to travel there. Your blog entries, outside of the intense course you’re taking, only increases my desire to visit some day.

    • πŸ™‚ It’s a shame we couldn’t somehow co-ordinate that you come visit while I’m out here! That would be a treat! If you do change your mind, the good news is: I’ll be in this end of the world for the next 4 1/2 months… you could always join me in Thailand? Or Cambodia? (…but there’s malaria in Cambodia, so maybe you wouldn’t want to join me there!) πŸ™‚ …worst comes to worst, I’ll be trying to convince Nico to move out here after a few years in France… so you’ll probably have more opportunities… I’m going to get a feel for Singapore after this, and see whether I might consider living there.

      • singapore is wonderful. but for numer of reason it wouldn’t be my first choice out of places i would like to live. one of the reason is perhaps you can explore the whole place in a day πŸ™‚

      • haha…that’s interesting… I’ve heard mixed opinions… some people think like you: a bit lame in the long-term, because you can see everything in a day… but then others say there’s loads to do, and a day isn’t enough! I shall soon see! πŸ™‚

  2. i think not going to visit u in bali is a huge mistake for moi.

    if only i could take few days off.

    who is to deprive me from this once (or twice, i hope) in a life time opportunity?

    really missing the sun. athens is abnormally cold and grey aujourd’hui.

    • awww…. I knowww… I really wish you could hun… you’d love it! And you wouldn’t be a ‘bule’ like me! hehehe…. there’s scores of sun out here… too bad I can’t enjoy it myself! I’m in air-condition all day every day… but not for much longer! πŸ˜‰ (Saying that, I’m really enjoying the course…no matter how tired I am all the time… and how much I have to work and study and write and go to class…it’s wonderful though, and I’ll be sad when it’s all over)

    • I can’t remember whether I’ve replied to this or not. It’s one month – and when they say ‘one month’, they mean every second that you breath in that month. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

