TESOL Bali: Day 20

  • I’m not tired! Yayyy! I had a lovely lie-in today (though not as enjoyable as I hoped for – I’ll explain why in a bit!)… and I plan to have another lie-in tomorrow! (by ‘lie-in’, I mean until 8am or so!)
  • Finished my Learner Profile! I’m pretty sure it was 50+ pages, but I lost count! I forgot to submit a part of it, so will need to email that to Komang as I’m a silly goose! I’ve been working on this project since the first week of TESOL, so it’s a massive relief to finally be submitting it! It may be as long (or longer than) my university dissertation… I’m curious… is it? Hmmm. Turned it in at 4pm this afternoon.
  • Seminyak and ‘Warung Italie’: We decided to go out and treat ourselves yesterday, as Week 3 is the most intense of the programme. We made it! On Friday, we had 3 back to back classes, prep for teaching, teaching, 2 deadlines and an observation. When all of this was over – to Seminyak we went for Italian dinner! I wouldn’t say it was amazing, but it was special and satisfying… I even ‘treated’ myself to a glass of Bali wine… and then a second glass… and I think it may be of a lesser quality, as I really felt it this morning! Such is life!
Warung Italie - Seminyak

First opportunity to go out for dinner with TESOL friends after 3 weeks of solid study

  • …. Repetition & memory loss: I started writing the above point and got really confused. I was convinced I forgot to write in my blog last night because I was so shattered…. I saved this entry into my drafts folder to check the posts I had written, and then realised I actually wrote something yesterday evening when I returned from Seminyak!!!! Considering how I felt this morning, I can’t believe I actually wrote something relatively coherent in my blog before I went to sleep. Dedication! (Admittedly, for anyone making judgements out there, I didn’t drink a lot – it was the quality and combination of drinks that made me feel rotten until about 6pm today).
  • Friends: linabinaf. Add me to Skype.
  • Avocado coffee: Once I submitted my Learner Profile, we went out for a bit of exploring in Denpasaar. I reaaaally fancied a proper coffee… and we found a place (albeit more expensive than absolutely everything we’ve had so far), and have a wonderful iced latte…. what was particularly interesting was their promotion of a special ‘avocado coffee’. What do you reckon? Should I go back and try it?
Avocado Coffee

Went for a proper iced coffee with proper espresso... and they're promoting avocado coffee! Should I try it?

  • KFC: :S. I ate some. I think the last time I ate KFC was in Athens when I was about 15. Today, it suddenly appealed to me. It’s probably gonna be another 12 years before I have it again – so, don’t be alarmed!
  • Balinese offerings, or ‘Canang’: One thing I don’t recall writing about that has become a significant memory of my time in Bali are the plentiful ‘offerings’. They’re beautiful, colourful and every building, temple, shrine, taxi, shop, restaurant and cafe is adorned with them… it’s spiritual… made daily…sometimes more than daily… an intricate process of weaving thin pieces of bamboo; overlapping it with coconut leaves; putting a piece of banana and a piece of sugarcane; and filling it with loads of colourful flowers and shredded grass. Sometimes people will leave money in them, and I’ve frequently seen cigarettes and grains of rice left in them as well. They’re tokens of self-sacrifice left everywhere to appease the demons and offer calm and peace to one’s life. The owner of the guesthouse’s wife, Putu, brought all of the supplies one morning before I started TESOL, and we spent an hour preparing an offering with her. It’s a craft in itself, and she explained to us that she made 200 of them everyday to adorn her compound… I took a few pictures… the question is… when will I post them? 🙂

Putu and Susan making Canang

  • Batik: Another thing Bali is known for is it’s Batik dresses and shirts and sarongs… I have yet to purchase one, but it appears silly to leave Bali without one! We went to a shopping centre in Denpasaar, where we discovered a Batik shop and another something that tad bit more commercial, but with a batik section nonetheless! We intend to go to a market tomorrow… If I can snatch a good deal, I may have a traditional Balinese sarong up my sleeve soon! 🙂
Traditional Balinese ceremonial clothes with batik sarongs

Traditional Balinese ceremonial clothes with batik sarongs

  • …..Tired. Bon nuit!!! and to my lovely friends who have been reading this, miss you and love you and good night. 
4 thoughts on “TESOL Bali: Day 20

  1. By the way, changing the camera orientation to ‘portrait’ when taking videos doesn’t always work out the way you would like! Great to see, but I’ve got a bit of a kink in my neck!

    • I think you’re right. Nico feels that way too… he usually avoids taking photos vertically… and, indeed, it’s probably for the best. Unfortunately, I’ve picked up bad habits. I realise it’s not ideal after I’ve taken the video or the photo. :S

  2. Love the photos and video. Was curious about the avacado coffee too. Never heard of it. They must have plenty of avacados in Bali to make coffee out of it. I found the following online post interesting too…

    AVOCADOS: HOW THEY GOT THEIR NAME

    excerpt from the Soil Report Newsletter of Soilmoisture Equipment Corp.

    If the tomato was once known as the love apple, it can’t be too titillating to point out that the avocado, the subject of this issue’s cover article, comes from the Aztec word for testicle, ahuacatl, presumably because of its shape and rough texture. But maybe nto. The Aztecs used the avocado as a sex stimulant, and archeologists have found the avocado seed buried with Peruvian mummies dating to 750B.C. Early Americans called it the alligator pear, becuase they could not pronounce the Spanish word for avocado, aguacate. European sailors called it “Midshipman’s Butter,” because they liked to spread a rich, guacamole-like substance on hardtack biscuits. There are eight varieties of avocado grown in the US, but the Haas variety remains the most popular. It’s hard, textured skin makes it easier to ship and when it turns dark consumers can be sure it is ripe. Florida grows a few avocado, but 95 per cent come from California. San Diego County calls itself the “avocado capital” of the world, but the fruit is grown as far north as San Luis Obispo. Most avocados are eaten raw on salads or in guacamole dip for chips, but that demonstrates culinary ignorance. Californians put them on pizza or into pita bread, also with fajitas or tacos; Chileans top hot dogs with them; Japanese put them on sushi rolls; and Nicaraguans stuff them with cheese and bake them in batter. Indonesians make a cold drink of avocado, milk, coffee, and rum; Columbians slice them into soups and Koreans mix them with milk for use as facials. What’s more, the avocado is loaded with minerals and vitamins and what cholesterol it contains is the good kind. Viva Avocado!

Leave a Reply

