TESOL Bali: Day 21

  • Naughty Lina: I had a bit of studying this weekend, but since turning in my Learner Profile at 4pm yesterday, I’ve done nothing. Knowing that it’s the last week, has kinda made me take my foot off the pedal… no excuses, though, and I’m playing dangerous games, as though most of it is over, there’s a quarter to go… need to put energy in these next 5 days and then?… off to Gili I go! 🙂 (I had a feeling I’d go back! I love it there!)
  • Pasar Karaswati: (or something like that). What a wonderful day we had exploring a dingy, authentic market in Denpasaar today! I think it wore all of us out… as it was sunny, humid, hot … and, well, smelly!
Denpasar Pasar

Denpasar Pasar

  • There were two markets… each in a building that could easily have been a large parking lot in some countries… strewn across 3 floors each… and separated by a murky river… the ground floor of one of the markets housed a combination of meats, fish, grains, tempes, tofus, chillis, gingers and spices…
Meat stall at the Pasar in Denpasar

Meat stall at the Pasar in Denpasar

  • The 1st floor had a combination of Hindu ceremonial ornaments and umbrellas and tiaras and random stuff for the bathroom
Religious ornaments at Denpasar Pasar

Religious ornaments at Denpasar Pasar

  • … on the third floor there were loads of stalls with shirts, batik dresses, ceremonial costumes, jewellery, shoes… and dozens of sales people who really didn’t care about how much they pushed and pushed to crack a sale… that you found yourself shouting at them so they could just back off.

Lina trying on a traditional Balinese ceremonial costumeLina trying on a traditional Balinese ceremonial costume

  • An on the whole remarkable experience… I’d happily go to another market again soon! (…and – I made a very, very special purchase. With this, I become ‘Princess Lina’!) 🙂
  • …Susan then followed to share a similar kubaya dressing experience to me… where we were adorned with our new ‘Balinese wear’ in true Denpasaar Market style! 😉
  • Chicken feet by the kilo: Yes, we discovered a few peculiar differences between Balinese and Turkish, Greek, English, German, French, Russian markets…. I list the above as they’re the other markets that first come to mind that I have been to, where they most certainly didn’t sell chicken feet by the kilo. I remember freaking out when my mum insisted we buy organic Cretan chicken for Christmas a few years ago… lucky me, I was assigned the task of preparing Christmas dinner – which I agreed to – but had I known this task involved chopping off the head with it’s eyes and beak, as well as its feet… I’m not sure whether I would have agreed! Nonetheless, whilst screaming and squirming… I do recall ridding the corpse of it’s appendages… but that was only one chicken… today, there was a massive stand with dozens and dozens of freshly chopped chicken feet… flies everywhere… blood on the floor and dripping from the meet stands onto my feet, between my toes and in my flip-flops…upon arriving home, the guesthouse dog didn’t bark at me (for once). Instead, it took a particular liking to me and didn’t stop licking my toes.  Yes. At least the dog liked it.
  • Pigeon head, Jelly grass, crunchy chicken bone & duriam fruit juice: Lanny, an Indonesian TESOL-mate, drove us to a food court we hadn’t been to in Denpasaar. Dozens of market stalls with traditional Indonesian food were around, so were quite spoiled for choice. Similarly. We didn’t know what half of the food on offer was… but gave some things ago nontheless. Pigeon head. Brian ordered pigeon for lunch… it was served with its head and Lanny revealed that Indonesians eat it. Brian thought he’d give it a go, and off the pigeon’s head went!!! Jelly grass. I went to a kiosk and ordered ‘Red Pearl Ice Tea’. Though the tea itself was lovely, it was full of these squishy, stringy, gelatin bits that had an odd texture and a peculiar taste. Lanny said it was ‘jelly grass’. What the hell is that?! Crunchy chicken bones. They say it’s called Ayam Sambal Mbe. I saw ‘Sambal’ and got excited for the chilli. When my food finally arrive, there was hardly any meet. Every bite was particularly crunchy, and I’m convinced I was served chicken bones with chilli rather than chicken! Duriam fruit juice. Brian – the adventurous one – bought himself a freshly squeezed duriam juice to takeaway. Now… I had never seen or heard of a duriam fruit before moving to Bali. Some people warned of it being terrible, but I could never believe that a fruit could possible be so bad. I drank a sip of Brian’s drink. In the beginning, it tasted a bit like vomit. Then, it sweetened. And then, it left me with another taste of vomit that made me want to vomit myself. So – I asked him for another sip…. Yes. I didn’t like it…. I can officially say that I much prefer cow brains… and would be happy to eat a plate of it over a glass of duriam juice. :S
  • Bemo power: When I first arrived in Bali, before starting my course, I really really wanted to ride on a Bemo… part of the authentic public transport system in Bali. The first two weeks necessitated that I take taxis, but fortunately, we had the opportunity to get our hands dirty and ride in a couple of bemos to and from the shopping market today. 🙂 Little vans with benches facing opposite one another… the door is left open, usually worn down little things without air-condition. We’ve been quite lucky… we’ve been hailing them down like taxis when they’ve been empty… usually, though, they have a set route… locals on them… and tourists get dramatically overcharged… now, we take them as and when we wish (we still get overcharged)… but it’s still cheap and fun, and I’m glad I’ve ridden on one.
Susan straight-faced on hot bemo to market in Denpasaar, Bali, Indonesia

Susan straight-faced on hot bemo to market in Denpasaar, Bali, Indonesia

  • Time for sleep. One week left until…. I’ll be a qualified English teacher (assuming I pass!)
2 thoughts on “TESOL Bali: Day 21

Leave a Reply

