TESOL Bali: Day 24

  • 2 more days of TESOL: Surreal. But not over yet. Stayed up late working on my Materials Assignment and my Teaching Practice Journal. The latter constitutes something like 57% of the total mark, so – it’s pretty important in the grand scheme of things. However, because it’s one of the final deadlines, it’s much more difficult to stay motivated to get it to the right standard. As per usual, it’s 2-something-AM, and I’ve decided to set my alarm for 5:50 to get started on my reflection. I have a bit of time after class tomorrow, but I worry I’ll need to focus on my Materials Assignment instead… we’ll see. I’d like to perform reasonably well…irrespective of whether time is against me.
  • Last day of teaching today: 😦 On the one hand, it’s a relief… as there’s so much planning and preparing and printing and designing and cutting and requesting of materials…. and, for some people, it’s high pressure… as all lessons are observed and evaluated and marked and compared to previous lessons. Nonetheless, I’m a bit sad… as it’s been a wonderful experience… we’ve had the opportunity to ‘get to know’ two groups of really dedicated students, and saying goodbye was difficult… and funny… full of requests to take one photo after the other…
Pre-intermediate group of students at I/A/L/F Bali on last day of teaching

Pre-intermediate group of students at I/A/L/F Bali on last day of teaching

Lina and Thami - lovely student from Pre-intermediate English class at I/A/L/F

Lina and Thami - lovely student from Pre-intermediate English class at I/A/L/F

Lina, April, Thami, Amalia and Diah after last day of teaching pre-intermediate class at I/A/L/F Bali

Lina, April, Thami, Amalia and Diah after last day of teaching pre-intermediate class at I/A/L/F Bali

Lina and Angelina from Elementary English class at I/A/L/F Bali who came to say good-bye on last day of teaching

Lina and Angelina from Elementary English class at I/A/L/F Bali who came to say good-bye on last day of teaching

Brian with Nata - winner of the 'Brian's famous Bear Shirt' during our last grand slam teaching lesson at I/A/L/F Bali

Brian with Nata - winner of the 'Brian's famous Bear Shirt' during our last grand slam teaching lesson at I/A/L/F Bali

  • Grand Slam Teacher Team Finale: Our teaching group consists (and has been consisting over the course of the month) of Brian, Susan, Farah and me (there is another group of TESOL trainee teachers, but they’ve been working with a different class to us and with a different syllabus). During the first week of teaching, we all taught together interchangeably… in the rest of the classes, we worked in two’s, alternating ‘teacher partners’ every week. Our final lesson (today’s) was unobserved as we had fulfilled our compulsory ‘Trinity teaching hours’ yesterday. We were scheduled to reconvene as a ‘Teacher quartet’ for the final lesson. With no guidance or restrictions in place, we decided to deliver a review and consolidation lesson for the kids in the form of a competition… there were games…there was noise…there was laughter… and, in the end, we had a winner and we had prizes. Celebrity prizes like British stationary (courtesy of Susan) and a very macho ‘bear t-shirt’ (courtesy of Brian). We even got videotaped by the multimedia staff (may I add this was because Farah and I requested it) and I may have been cheeky and recorded a few mini-clips as well. The ‘Grand Slam’ – so to speak – ended with us formally distributing I/A/L/F/ certificates and key rings to the students… Farah reading out the names (she was best suited for this responsibility as she’s the only one who can pronounce them), me ‘hand-shaking’ and offering praise, and Brian… well, Brian. Brian just was. We ended with 30 minutes of photos, with students from the other class joining in, requesting to take individual photos with all of the teachers. It was sad to say goodbye to them, as they really are so lovely. I wish I could teach them again.
  • Sorry about the long paragraph above.
  • Being a child again. We had two lessons on teaching young learners again. *By ‘young learners’, they’re no longer referring to the 16 years olds we’ve been teaching for the last month – but, instead, are referring to children aged somewhere between 4-8 (I’m guessing).* I suppose the best way to teach people how to teach children is by running demo classes with the trainee teachers themselves. I must say… I’m much better at playing the role of the child learner than I am at the role of the adult learner… and, it’s much more enjoyable. I really do have a peculiar learning preference in favour of drawing, writing stories about random things, miming, games, pictionary, story-telling, etc. However, in this lesson, I did also learn that I’d much prefer being the young learner rather than teaching the young learner…. I don’t know whether I can do it!
  • Nonetheless, I just happened to be paired up with Travis for a significant portion of the two classes. We tend to wind each other up (in a good way) and – with the right stimuli – can get really really silly. Yes. I’d like to think I learned something today….
This is (I'm not sure who's) favourite animal and story from our Young Learners lesson at I/A/L/F Bali

This is (I'm not sure who's) favourite animal and story from our Young Learners lesson at I/A/L/F Bali

This is another TESOL trainee's favourite animal from our Young Learner's class

This is another TESOL trainee's favourite animal from our Young Learner's class

Another TESOL trainee's favourite animal in our Young Learner's class at I/A/L/F Bali

Another TESOL trainee's favourite animal in our Young Learner's class at I/A/L/F Bali

And another TESOL trainee favourite animal during our Young Learner lesson at I/A/L/F Bali

And another TESOL trainee favourite animal during our Young Learner lesson at I/A/L/F Bali

Lina's 'favourite animal' and story for the Young Learner lesson at I/A/L/F Bali

Lina's 'favourite animal' and story for the Young Learner lesson at I/A/L/F Bali

  • Thank you cards. Lanny, another lovely TESOL-trainee from the other teaching group, led an activity with her class where students had the opportunity to implement the target language into ‘Thank you cards’. The students wrote wonderful messages that, I couldn’t resist, I took photos of… I’m excited to share these with you.
Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

Lanny's Thank You cards - introducing greetings to elementary students in her teaching practice at I/A/L/F Bali

  • Eeek…. late. It’s nearing three. Waking up in 3 hours. :S… [I’m a bit behind in my emails as a result of the course, by the way. After Friday’s interview with the Moderators, I’ll be a normal human being again… and I’ll reply.] 
  • P.S. The owner’s wife, Putu (she’s on the cadang videos I uploaded on my blog), prepared us an AMAZING Balinese dinner this evening with a range of spicy dishes that were a million times tastier than the warungs… she also tempted us girls with some more authentic Batik clothing… :S… I won’t tell you whether I’ve bought any… Good night!!!!
Putu - Bali Jepun's lovely hostess - wonderful Balinese dinner for our congratulatory TESOL finale evening

Putu - Bali Jepun's lovely hostess - wonderful Balinese dinner for our congratulatory TESOL finale evening

Putu and lovely TESOL graduate, Gerri, during our congratulatory end-of-TESOL dinner

Putu and lovely TESOL graduate, Gerri, during our congratulatory end-of-TESOL dinner

 

 

Leave a Reply

