TESOL Bali: The Very Last…Day 26

AHHHH! I’M A QUALIFIED ENGLISH TEACHER!!!! Undoubtedly I need to work and gain more experience before I can truly warrant the title, but officially …. aaaahhhhh!!!! I’ve just earned the key to the world!!! For all of my lovely TESOL graduates: WE’VE EARNED THE KEY TO THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Key to the world. On the second to last day of the course, we had a session on ‘ELT careers’. Admittedly, this wasn’t the best input session I/A/L/F/ delivered… on the contrary, it was quite weak – and, for 40 minutes of the session, we were asked to ‘look for work for a peer’ based on their criteria. Hmmm… having done that for 3 and a half years, I didn’t really see the point… however, once I understood Daria’s criteria… I endeavoured to find ELT roles in Singapore… I then found 6… very well paid roles… with a fair bit of ‘useful extras’…and ahhhh…I then looked at roles in Saudi Arabia… and then Thailand… and Vietnam… ahhh… and I realised… wow! I can officially work anywhere I want to… and I’m SOOOO excited!!!! I don’t think I could ever be unemployed in my life now! When the crisis wipes out Europe… I’ll just leave and go where it’s all happening…. I really do wish I could live out here for a bit… I could have weekly massages, manicures… I could go get my hair done once a month… I could take Balinese dancing lessons… I could go diving… learn how to cook with ginger and turmeric… I could have a driver… I could even have my own nanny! Why not live like a queen if you have the opportunity to? … I could also learn Bahasa… and work with Nyoman… I could help him during his recruitment drives, hiring staff for international cruise ships… at offer stage, I could teach them cruise-ship-specific English…oh… what a wonderful dream. 🙂
  • Seminyak Beach. First time I’d been to the beach in Seminyak… it hardly felt like ‘Seminyak Beach’… as the ‘beach’ was so far from Seminyak! But we saw the sunset, and we each treated ourselves to our preferred drink to celebrate completion of the course.
TESOL Graduates on last day of course at Seminyak Beach, Indonesia

TESOL Graduates on last day of course at Seminyak Beach, Indonesia

Sunset at Seminyak Beach

Sunset at Seminyak Beach

  • Made’s Warung. Daria was lovely, and booked a table for as a Bali’s first Warung – Made’s. Tonight they had Balinese dancing, and we were very lucky, as we were sat INCREDIBLY close… as if we weren’t close enough, I moved up towards the border of the ‘stage’ and sat on the floor to get a better view. I may have video-taped many many videos, as I was incredibly fascinated by their facial expressions and grace. I’ll try to load a few on here as they really were wonderful.
Balinese dancing at Made's Warung in Seminyak, Bali

Balinese dancing at Made's Warung in Seminyak, Bali

Balinese dancer at Made's Warung in Seminyak, Bali

Balinese dancer at Made's Warung in Seminyak, Bali

 

TESOL Graduates final photo together after completion of course at Made's Warung, Seminyak, Bali

TESOL Graduates final photo together after completion of course at Made's Warung, Seminyak, Bali

  • Moderator Interview: The moderator was flown in from London to assess us. We had a group and individual interview… I was the unlucky one that had to go last. It was tantalising knowing that others were done by 11:30 and I hadn’t started until 15:50.  – we’re all even. Fair and square. And it’s over!!! 🙂
  • About my blog. My aim was to somehow someway write in my blog every day of the course, to truly capture the TESOL experience … both for myself… and for prospective TESOL trainees wishing to come to IALF Bali. This was a challenge for me –  particularly as there were many late nights… and, as a result, sometimes, you really do just want to go to bed and write your blog entry the next day. Nonetheless – I did it!!!! A ‘day-by-day’ account of the TESOL experience in Bali in my own eyes. I wished I had a blog to read about it before I started… Enjoy!
  • Night night – bon nuit! 
  • (I may have given Balinese dancing a go… on stage… with the Balinese dancers… ;0)
Lina trying to Balinese dance at Made's Warung, in Seminyak, Bali

Lina trying to Balinese dance at Made's Warung, in Seminyak, Bali

Lanny, Susan, Brian and I with the Balinese dancers at Made's Warung in Seminyak, Bali

Lanny, Susan, Brian and I with the Balinese dancers at Made's Warung in Seminyak, Bali

6 thoughts on “TESOL Bali: The Very Last…Day 26

  1. Congratulations, Lina. A key to the world… that sounds very appealing. The more opportunities in life, the better. And yes, I would love to see your Balinese dancing videos.

    • Thank youuuu!!! I’ve taken a few days off of writing… I’ve returned to the Gili Islands with new company… It’s harder to load pictures and videos from here, I’m afraid… but I will try to embed new pictures and videos when I return to Ubud. The leg of my trip in Indonesia is soon to come to an end… will be going to Singapore soon. 🙂

    • Hello there, beautiful! 🙂 Thank youuuu!!!! The Balinese dancing was wonderful – I’ve been lucky to see it twice. The others may be keen to go again in Ubud, but I may save myself from the expense and try something I haven’t done before. 🙂 I will be flying out soon… not much time left in Indonesia… but I feel I’ve been here for a good while… and have truly gotten a feel for the people and the culture… I’m glad to have achieved the TESOL… it was most certainly worthwhile and I’m sure will come handy to me in France and for my return to Asia (which I hope will also happen some day soon!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

