Cooking lessons with Nok from Chang Chalaad in Chiang Mai, Thailand

We went for a Thai dinner at a small, cozy restaurant called Chang Chalaad in Chiang Mai on our first night. There were only 2 small tables outside and 3 inside, and we were lucky enough to secure 1 of the tables-for-two next to a quaint water fountain outdoors.

Lina laughing in front of Chang Chalaad before cooking lesson in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Lina laughing in front of Chang Chalaad before cooking lesson in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Nico and I were each given a menu from a cute Thai lady whose name – we later found out – was Nok. We were spoiled for choice… not knowing which dish to choose, but finally deciding on a Pumpkin chicken curry with rice for myself… and a Green curry with aubergine and rice for Nico. Goodness! It was delicious!

We later noticed that one of the two menus promoted the restaurant’s very own Thai cooking course… I called for Nok: You guys do Thai cooking courses! I exclaim with excitement in my eyes.

‘No.’ She replies with a smile. ‘Before, yes. But now, no. Finished.’ She’s still smiling.

Oh. My own smile changes to a temporary frown…and then I smile again, and say: So, when do you offer Thai cooking courses? Your pumpkin curry is beautiful!

She pauses, glances left, then down in confusion. Her eyes lift and she replies: ‘Sunday. Can. No work Sunday. Sunday can. You come. Choose 6 dishes.’

Nico cooking Thai food during lessons with Nok at Chang Chalaad in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Nico cooking Thai food during lessons with Nok at Chang Chalaad in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Jackpot. Nico and I flattered ourselves into a full-day of private Thai cooking lessons with Nok – at a very affordable price…we contemplated the dishes we hoped to make…Green curry with chicken. Pumpkin curry with chicken. Som Tam Spicy Papaya Salad. Thai Vermicelli Salad. Massaman curry. Vegetable fried rice. Phad-Thai noodles…Yes. We’d like to learn how to prepare all that. 🙂

Nok replies: ‘Can. Have time. Can. No problem!’

Nico and Lina enjoying first home-made Thai dishes prepared at Chang Chalaad restaurant in Chang Mai

Nico and Lina enjoying first home-made Thai dishes prepared at Chang Chalaad restaurant in Chang Mai

So, there it goes… Nico and I spent a full day in a small Thai restaurant kitchen… I’ve written down all of the recipes on a piece of paper that I don’t currently have on me. I will – when time permits – add them as individual posts to my blog for anyone interested to prepare for fun at home!

6 thoughts on “Cooking lessons with Nok from Chang Chalaad in Chiang Mai, Thailand

    • Yum yum, goosey mou! 🙂 I think you would have loved our Thai food! Especially the dishes I made – they were super spicy!

  1. Thought some more about the Thai cooking theme. Mimi and I just watched a movie called, ‘First Bite… the Zen of Cooking’. An Indie film that I found somewhat difficult to follow, but memorable all the same for its scenes from Thailand. Napakpapha Nakprasitte, also known as ‘Mamee’, was mezmerizing… ‘Your my first. Your my last. Your my everything.’ A new twist on ‘Fatal Attraction’. Beyond Thailand, we’re now watching a Korean serial called, ‘Pasta’. Love the cultural differences.

    1st Bite Trailer:
    http://www.imdb.com/video/screenplay/vi2978808601/

    • Wonderful. Would be great to watch it myself when I return to normality! (though, assuming we still move to France, I’m not sure how I’ll go about finding films and the lot! Will become new themes to blog posts, I guess! 😉 Thanks for sharing!

  2. Great idea, you guys. Some day you’ll have to prepare one of the dishes for us! Hope you got a good photo of Nok. She sounds beautiful.

    • Very sweet woman, indeed! And I sure hope we still remember it all! hehe (Though I believe we will for some reason – we’ve both enjoyed our curries so much!). Nico’s particularly passionate about his curries (and he won’t make it half as spicy as I would), so we can get him to cook for us when we come and visit you! hehehe

Leave a Reply

