Dances with the King Cobra in Mae Rim, Chang Mai, Thailand

The problem with Chiang Mai is that there is SO much to do. I spent a fair bit of time reading about the various cities and countries we’ll be visiting for the rest of our travels in Southeast Asia whilst in Koh Phi Phi… writing lists of places I’d like to visit, activities I’d like to complete, money I’m likely to spend on various ad-hoc pursuits…Chiang Mai was seemingly disproportionate… as there really are many fun-filled activities and quests one can lose themselves with here.

Temple view from Chiang Mai Sunday Market in Thailand

Temple view from Chiang Mai Sunday Market in Thailand

Ironically – upon my arrival – I found out about even more places to see and ‘things to do’ that weren’t even mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide… Doi Suthep, Mae Rim, Bo Saeng…Our intended 5 or so days in Chiang Mai turned into a week… and now, we’ve been here for 10 days… and soon, it seems we’ll be extending our stay to 2 weeks… and I’m almost worried our stay will be extended yet again… Ai me, the pitfalls of planning when you’re having fun!

Profile view of Buddha statue at Doi Suthep, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Profile view of Buddha statue at Doi Suthep, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Alternative view of Doi Suthep in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Alternative view of Doi Suthep in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Lina having a go at the spiritual gong at Doi Suthep, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Lina having a go at the spiritual gong at Doi Suthep, Chiang Mai, Thailand

So – Nico and I took the scooter 11 km out of town to a village called Mae Rim, where we spent some time at a snake farm. Initially, we thought it was a hoax…as we witnessed snake-cage upon snake-cage with motionless pythons, King Cobras, ‘jumping’ snakes… we were convinced the snakes were either dead or fake… and that we had – yet again – fallen victim to a 300 baht scam, buying entrance to what we presumed was a living snake farm… only to find a mass snake grave.

However, when a Thai worker sneaked up behind me with a snake hanging over his shoulders, and its’ slithery head popping up next to me, I realised these snakes were very much alive. Instead, they simply lay still. Until provoked, that is.

I suppose my experience at the snake farm gave me some reassurance that snakes are generally harmless unless you bother them. This is important mainly because we aim to trek in jungles known to be home of many exotic snakes… I’d like to think I’ll be safe even if I encounter one – unless I accidentally step on one… or choose to poke at one whilst its’ eating dinner…

Nico holding a snake in Mae rim snake farm near Chiang Mai, Thailand

Nico holding a snake in Mae rim snake farm near Chiang Mai, Thailand

4 thoughts on “Dances with the King Cobra in Mae Rim, Chang Mai, Thailand

  1. This post reminds me on this situation in the cameron highlands djungel where i throw the stamp right next to you and shouted ,,snaaake” 😀 Lina was in panic….but now you can handle snakes

    Anyway have fun in Laos and Cambodia( my favourite countries of Southeastasia) and do the Gibbon Experience…its definitely something for you…great adventure…

    Enjoy your time
    Cheers
    Christian

    • Christiiiian! How wonderful to read your comment! Indeed – Laos and Cambodia will be wonderful experiences, and I look forward to sharing our experiences with you. 🙂 We’ve done more climbing! But I’ll be sharing a bit more on that in future posts.

      I hope your jobsearching is going well. I look forward to hearing about your first rock climbing experience soon.

      Take care,
      Lina

    • Hehe. Well – not in the snake farm, they didn’t. We could have visited an orchid farm, but decided against it as we went there 3 years ago. We thought we’d try something different! 😉 Indeed – a bit gross. Hehe. Especially when the man sticks the snake in his mouth!

Leave a Reply

