The Most Seductive Town of Southeast Asia: Luang Prabang, Laos

Some refer to Luang Prabang as the most ‘romantic town’ of Southeast Asia… but it truly is far more than that. At the confluence of the Mekong and Khan River, this former French colony is an elegant fusion of East and West: Latte machiattos and iced cappuccinos with homemade pain du chocolat served under a hand-crafted parasol made by a local, hll-tribe Hmong woman… neo-classical, teak-beamed French mansions converted into chic boutique hotels for Lao-silk wearing tourists opposite ancient Lanna temples housing hundreds of pairs of earth-trodding bare feet, orange and saffron robes, and large alms bowls of the devout Buddhist monks…. And finally – for dinner – plentiful glasses of cool, French vin blanc to wash down the traditional Lao chicken ‘Laab’ infused with mint and coriander as an aperitif… and a steak de boeuf with a fine portion of potatoes au gratin for the main course.

Lao’s first UNESCO-heritage site, Luang Prabang’s charming calm is preserved by the absence of large vehicles and the imposed 11:30pm curfew….. what a wonderful town for celebrating Valentine’s Day! 🙂

Lanna temple, Luang Prabang, Laos

Lanna temple, Luang Prabang, Laos

A monk's drying orange robe in his home, Luang Prabang, Laos

A monk's drying orange robe in his home, Luang Prabang, Laos

 

Valentine's Day dinner in Luang Prabang, Laos

Valentine's Day dinner in Luang Prabang, Laos

Beautiful and refreshing swim in Kuangsi Waterfalls just outside of Luang Prabang, Laos

Beautiful and refreshing swim in Kuangsi Waterfalls just outside of Luang Prabang, Laos

Night Handicraft Market in Luang Prabang, Laos

Night Handicraft Market in Luang Prabang, Laos

4 thoughts on “The Most Seductive Town of Southeast Asia: Luang Prabang, Laos

  1. I’ve revisited the picture of the ‘Monk’s Drying Orange Robe’ several times. I keep thinking it’s a BW photo that has been hand-colored. But it’s a straight photo as far as I can tell. I really like it. Not sure if it was taken by Lina, Nico, or someone else, but great work.

    • Yayyyyyy!!!! I absolutely love that photo! More importantly, I loved the view of that Monk’s home… it was such a magical moment to be there… I had to take a photograph of it. I’m so pleased you like it – and it was me!!!! hehehe! Nico’s usually responsible for some of the great shots, but that was all mine!

  2. baby! i wonder where on earth you are now! miss u!
    we are leaving in two weeks as well! 2months of planning has left me exhausted…jst wanna get there. jst get there!

    • My wonderful sorabear! I miss you too! At the moment, I’m in Cambodia!!!! And – can you post me the precise dates of when you’re in Thailand? I’ll be going to Burma soon… I think I’ll be there whilst you’re in Thailand! I’m so so so excited for you that you’re going – but so sad that I can’t see you in such a special part of the world. On a completely different and random note… I think… in one of your next travels to Korea… we should plan together… and I should join you. Not now (as I won’t have money)… maybe in 2 years (hopefully I’ll have money sooner than this, but just to be safe!). It’s meant to happen. I feel it. We’re meant to spend a couple weeks in Korea together. How do you feel about this, my dear?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

